#Resound11: Percolate

One word to describe 2011- percolate

In September of 2010 I rolled off the board of Central City Co-op.  That was the end of an era in my life. Nine years of direct service, bringing fresh organic vegetables to Houston, in an inclusive cooperative way. Six years of getting to work before dawn a couple days a week to lay it all out literally setting up the market, or crafting the order for the next week’s produce. Three (or is it four?) more years as a founding member of the board of directors. The release was strange, and I knew one thing- I needed a rest from food related projects.

Food is so central to our lives, though. Food is so central to my experience of community. I knew it would come back around. The knowledge swirling in the background, back where the Mister and I plot out our “Lottery Fantasy” life, that includes a commercial grade kitchen for community gatherings and for producing our pickles and condiments to sell to the local market.

In July I began a 10 week leadership course. I needed a community project. I had a great work related idea, that my marketing VIP vetoed (a distraction she said). So what else? What is an area of life that I don’t have full self-expression in? Community. Food. Enjoying food in community.

per·co·late/ˈpərkəˌlāt/

Verb:
  1. (of a liquid or gas) Filter gradually through a porous surface or substance.
  2. (of information or an idea or feeling) Spread gradually through an area or group of people.

The project’s shape is still being imagined. We’ve had some successful gatherings; we’ve had even more conversations about the intersection of fun, food, and togetherness. Surprising discussions of self-reliance at a group level. The idea is percolating, spreading, infecting our community with enthusiasm and possibility.  The final strength and color have not yet been determined, but I hear the bubbling. I smell the aroma, and I know that I am home.

Comments are closed.