#Resound11: Abdicate

Today’s prompt is about vices, bad habits.

In 2011 I saw the reemergence of one of my worst food habits- abdication of responsibility for feeding myself.  It sounds so silly when I write it out like that, but anticipating my food needs shouldn’t be difficult.

I’ve been on this Earth, able to pay my rent on time, perform routine maintenance on my house or apartment, more than capable of cooking a tasty meal for, well let’s just say, more than twelve years. So how does it occur as a surprise that I am going to be hungry at approximately the same time day after day? How is knowing that my mood, my productivity, my whole outlook will suffer if I schedule appointments and calls back to back for six hours without a break or a plan for lunch.

Thank goodness for El Rey- a local taco chain, Cuban style, using fresh ingredients (heartily vouched for by my favorite nutrition coach). Thank goodness for the Mister’s Monday night pot o’ beans habit and my love of raw carrots, apples, and peanut butter. These supports saved the day more times than I would like to admit.

Now I’m naked before you, my vice showing you my selfishness. Our Community Appetite was created out of my desire to create a structure to feed myself and my relationships.  I don’t like being forgetful, small, or powerless in my food choices. I am inspired by joy, ease, and empowerment. I am pleased to be ending the year on a positive note, with my abdication of responsibility (food sovereignty?) noticed, cataloged, accepted, and occasionally, transformed into joyful responsibility and personal power.

What food vices are you dealing with? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

Comments are closed.