#Resound11: Growth

What good have you done in 2011? Where do you really shine? What have you done that makes you proud of yourself?

Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this thing nor that but simply growth, We are happy when we are growing.
William Butler Yeats

This year I have really embraced growth. I started this blog this year and have taken on learning the technical aspects of blogging, writing, and sharing information over the web, especially since my end goal is actions out in the world, in our kitchens.

I stepped outside of my own comfortable circuit, and shared my heartfelt ideas, and hopes for our community with people, not just people but people who I want to think well of me. Being authentic and asking for participation- these simple acts took courage in 2011.

Going back to the beginning of 2011, I was once again being with someone I love while they transitioned, again from cancer. This time it was a peer, instead of my father. This time I had to maintain my business income and stay ‘in the world’ while I supported her, her family, and our mutual friends in their grief. The staying ‘in the world’ meant I also stayed responsible for my nourishment.  I had already fallen into the habit of foraging and running through the drive-thru. I had forgotten my kitchen skills. Cooking for Stelly and her family reminded me of how much I do know. Comparing myself to my foodie friends wasn’t empowering (Foodies: I love what you do! Please keep inviting me to dinner- I just needed to remember that your way is not THE WAY).

I actually know lots of ways to take a few inexpensive ingredients, combine them simply, and enjoy. You probably do too.  Now let’s get together and build each other up. Now let’s make a habit of it.

The strength of a man’s virtue should not be measured by his special exertions, but by his habitual acts.
Blaise Pascal

Comments are closed.